Customer PortalGet Started

The Three Layers Of CBRS

CBRS spectrum in the US is broken down into three tiers, and in this episode of Field Journal we’ll dive into exactly how those tiers work.

The CBRS shared spectrum is broken down into three tiers, and in this episode we’ll dive into exactly why those tiers exist, and how businesses can use them to deploy their own private LTE networks. Check out the Episode 8 of Field Journal to get answers to questions like:

  • What are the three tiers of CBRS?
  • How much of the spectrum does each tier take up?
  • Are there geographical areas that are off limits?
  • What are the stipulations behind PAL licensing?

Key Takeaways

  • CBRS is divided into three tiers, which help allocate space for military, service providers, and business private LTE services.
  • PAL licensing can be obtained to allow spectrum access on a county-by-county basis for a period of ten years.
  • In tier 1, certain areas around the US coastlines are dedicated to the US navy, as well as other areas of the country which are classified as an exclusion zone, or dynamic protection zone.
  • Fix satellite services in areas of the country can also limit what bands can be used in a given area.


For more information, check out these related resources:

On-Demand Demo

See a Celona 5G LAN in action and learn the basics

Share on:

Stay in touch with Celona news.